Part 3- The Kenya Story: No Matter What.

One month in counting, I was about to embark on my incredible journey to Africa. The training was on point, and teaching skills were leveling up; there seemed nothing could go wrong, or so I thought. Weeks up to the trip, I would suffer a pop rib after an over-committed double leg takedown attempt. Next, I would tweak my knee. Mind you. I have never been injured, as I am always cautious about my training routine, which left me frustrated with myself. Maybe it was the pressure or excitment of being in the best form. Who knows. Thankfully, I was able to make it work. I battled through the pain and made minor modifications that kept me consistent and safe until take-off time.

If problems couldn’t get any weirder, they did off the mat also.
After weeks of waiting for my Visitor visa, I became a victim of a fraud scandal, which left me hurrying to fix my debt and get the proper visa papers. Thankfully, both matters cleared up one week before I went to Africa.

On June 21, 2021, I sat in bed thinking about the trip that was to come the next day. I couldn’t help but think about what would happen when I got there and was excited it was finally happening after so many delays. One thing was inevitable no matter what my fears, expectations, and curiosity was…no matter what. Tomorrow this trip was happening !!!!

Leave a comment